Education

Elisabeth Pawelke studied voice and historical harp at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis (University of Early Music) in Basle and at the Trossingen University of Music from which she graduated with a Master of Early Music degree. In addition she took singing lessons with Gundula Anders, Eric Mentzel and attended master classes given, et al., by Emma Kirkby. The scope of her repertoire comprises especially early music from the Middle Ages to Baroque, art song as well as traditional music, and musical. She also studied music pedagogy, musicology, and early German linguistics at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University in Munich and on a scholarship at the Basle University graduating with a Master of Arts degree. Besides she is also an academic speech and voice therapist. She is presently doing her doctorate in vocal pedagogy at the Leopold-Mozart-Zentrum of the University Augsburg, Institute for Instrumental and Vocal Pedagogy.

 

Artistic Career

Elisabeth Pawelke performed with various early music ensembles such as Almara, RicciCapricci, Egeria, Estampie, The Muses' Fellows, VocaMe, and Faun. She sang and played at renowned festivals and concerts in Germany and Europe, such as The Oude Muziek Festival in Utrecht (The Netherlands), The International Messiaen Week in Neustadt an der Weinstraße, Trollhättans Tidig Musik Dagar (Sweden), in the Arena van Vletingen in Gent (Belgium), the Bachtage at Wiblingen Monastery, as well as at festivals in Italy, Hungary, and Spain. She gave concerts et al., at the 150th throne anniversary of King Ludwig II of Bavaria in the Munich Residence and at the 350th anniversary of Nymphenburg Palace. She also sang in various choirs for Gregorian chant and medieval monody. She performs at concerts with various solo programmes, accompanying her singing on her harps. Together with lutenist Christine Riessner she revived English, German and Spanish lute songs of the 16th and 17th centuries, as well as in ensemble the music of Bach, Handel, Purcell, and Bernier. By order of the Bavarian Administration of Palaces, Gardens and Lakes she acted as musicological advisor for the musical conception of the Historical Museum Cadolzburg and recorded pieces from the Schedel Songbook. This led to a new album with the ensemble Amara which was published by the label Naxos at the end of 2020. A CD with works by the composer Thomas Selle (1599-1663) with the ensemble The Muses' fellows was also published on the label Coviello Classics in 2021.

With the group Faun Elisabeth Pawelke recorded five CDs and two DVDs (et. al. in cooperation with Chris Blair/Abbey Road Studios London), to which she made significant contributions to composition and production. Following the publication of the CD "Outros Amores" with her ensemble Amara she, together with the ensemble VocaMe, sang hymns of Kassia, a composer and poetess in 9th century Byzantium, for a CD by the label Christophorus. With the ensemble RicciCapricci she published the CD "Perla mya cara", focussing on Italian and Spanish Renaissance and early Baroque music. A review in the paper "Rheinpfalz" reads:

"The wonderful voice of Elisabeth Pawelke equals the clarity of a pearl. The musical balance between the vocal filigree of her flawless soprano and the natural melodic flow fascinates in each phrase."

The "Südwestpresse" (June 10, 2014) wrote on the performance of this programme:

"With Elisabeth Pawelke the ensemble RicciCapricci crown themselves. Instrumentally accompanied vocal solos and musical dialogues, the so-called "concertare" defines the new music of the Early Baroque. The singer presented herself with a mature voice control and a captivating presence. Convincing was her imploring singing as in Claudio Monteverdi's "Sì dolce è 'l tormento”, transparent and virtuoso the vocal ornamentation when reciting songs by Giulio Caccini, an illustrious singing teacher of his time."

© 2020 Elisabeth Pawelke | Imprint · Data protection

Ausbildung

 

Elisabeth Pawelke studierte Gesang und historische Harfe an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, der Hochschule für Alte Musik in Basel, sowie an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Musik in Trossingen und erhielt einen Master of Music in Early Music. Zusätzliche Gesangsstunden bekam sie unter anderem von Gundula Anders und Eric Mentzel und nahm an Meisterkursen, wie bei Emma Kirkby, teil. Ihr Repertoire umfasst insbesondere Alte Musik von Mittelalter bis Barock, klassische Gesangsliteratur sowie traditionelle Musik und Musical. Sie absolvierte zudem ein Studium der Musikpädagogik, Musikwissenschaft und Älteren deutschen Sprachwissenschaft mit dem Magister Artium an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in München und an der Universität Basel, wofür sie ein Stipendium erhielt. Darüber hinaus ist sie akademische Sprach- und Stimmtherapeutin. Derzeit promoviert sie in Vokalpädagogik am Leopold-Mozart-Zentrum der Universität Augsburg, Institut für Instrumental- und Gesangspädagogik.

 

Künstlerischer Werdegang 

 

Elisabeth Pawelke trat mit verschiedenen Ensembles Alter Musik auf, wie Almara, RicciCapricci, Egeria, Estampie, The Muses' Fellows, VocaMe und Faun. Sie sang und spielte bei renommierten Festivals und Konzerten in Deutschland und Europa, wie dem Oude Muziek Festival in Utrecht (Niederlande), der Internationalen Messiaen-Woche in Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, den Trollhättans Tidig Musik Dagar (Schweden), in der Arena van Vletingen in Gent (Belgien), den Bachtagen Kloster Wiblingen sowie bei Festivals in Italien, Ungarn und Spanien. Sie konzertierte unter anderem beim 150. Thronjubiläum von König Ludwig II.  von Bayern in der Residenz München und beim 350. Jubiläum von Schloss Nymphenburg. Zudem sang sie bei mehreren Chören für Gregorianik und mittelalterliche Monodie. Mit verschiedenen Soloprogrammen tritt sie auch bei Konzerten auf, in denen sie ihren Gesang auf ihren Harfen begleitet. Zusammen mit der Lautenistin Christine Riessner erweckte sie Lautenlieder des 16. und 17. Jahrhunderts aus England, Deutschland und Spanien  zu neuem Leben sowie im Ensemble Musik von Bach, Händel, Purcell und Bernier. Als musikwissenschaftliche Beraterin zur musikalischen Konzeption des Historischen Museums Cadolzburg war sie im Auftrag der Bayerischen Verwaltung der staatlichen Schlösser, Gärten und Seen tätig und nahm Stücke aus dem Schedelschen Liederbuch auf. Mit dem Ensemble Almara entstand daraufhin ein neues Album, das bei dem Label Naxos veröffentlicht werden wird.

 

Mit der Gruppe Faun nahm Elisabeth Pawelke zudem fünf CDs und zwei DVDs auf (u. a. in Zusammenarbeit mit Chris Blair/Abbey Road Studios London), bei denen sie maßgeblich an Komposition und Produktion beteiligt war. Nach der Veröffentlichung der CD „Outros Amores“ mit ihrem Ensemble Almara hat sie mit dem Ensemble VocaMe eine CD für das Label Christophorus mit Hymnen der Kassia eingesungen, einer Komponistin und Dichterin im Byzanz des 9. Jahrhunderts. Zusammen mit dem Ensemble RicciCapricci brachte sie die CD „Perla mya cara” heraus, die sich vor allem mit italienischer und spanischer Musik der Renaissance und des Frühbarocks beschäftigt. Eine Rezension dazu in der Rheinpfalz befand: 

 

„Der Reinheit einer Perle gleicht auch die wunderschöne Stimme von Elisabeth Pawelke. Die musikalische Balance zwischen stimmlichem Filigran ihres makellosen Soprans und natürlicher Melodieführung fasziniert in jeder Phrase.“

 

Über eine Aufführung dieses Programms schrieb die „Südwestpresse“ (10.6.2014):

 

„Mit Elisabeth Pawelke krönt sich das Ensemble „RicciCapricci” selbst. Instrumental begleiteter Sologesang und Musikdialoge, das sogenannte „concertare” bestimmten die neue Musik des Frühbarock. Die Sängerin präsentierte sich mit reifer Stimmbeherrschung und mitreissender Präsenz. Überzeugend ihr flehentlicher Gesang, etwa in Claudio Monteverdi's „Sì dolce è 'l tormento”, transparent und virtuos die stimmliche Ornamentik, wenn sie Lieder von Giulio Caccini, einem seiner Zeit hochberühmten Gesangslehrer, vortrug.“

© 2020 Elisabeth Pawelke | Impressum · Datenschutz